Draft Minutes

NORTH WEST AREA JOINT POLICING SUB COMMITTEE Monday 12th September 2016 at 3.00 p.m.

Item		Action
1.	Minutes of meeting held 20 th June 2016 and matters arising.	Agreed.
2.	Update on the CCTV Project – Insp John Burke.	Insp. Burke gave an update on the ongoing CCTV project in the Northwest Area, some of the main points are as follows: • The next phase of installation will be at Tesco Clearwater and at St. Helena's Drive. • It is anticipated that this will be followed by Cameras at Cappagh Rd/Ratoath Drive, Ratoath Road/M50 flyover, Glasanaon Road at Johnstown Park and finally Willow Park Crescent/Grove Park Road. • A commitment from Tesco Ireland, DCC and Fingal CC to fund the cameras in co-operation with the Garda Telecommunications Section. Councillor Reilly and Councillor Mc Auliffe requested the management of a number of CCTV cameras in the Ballymun/Poppintree area to be taken over by An Garda Siochana. Mary Taylor to address this request under the review of the CCTV in Public Domain, update due for the December 2016 JPC meeting.
3.	Update on Kildonan Lands Project and Abigail Centre.	Noted. Deputy Shortall suggested clarity with regard to funding available for the project in a bid to avoid raising unrealistic expectations.
4.	Presentation on Operation Hybrid	Detective Inspector Des Mc Tiernan presented a PowerPoint presentation on Operation Hybrid. The operation deals with armed checkpoints. The presentation was followed by a number of questions and answers. Det. Insp Mc Tiernan agreed to forward statistics on the type of seizures to Cllr. Perry. It was noted that Operation Hybrid does not reduce existing Garda activity due to use of additional resources eg. Overtime.

5.	Interim Report on Mental Health Support Sub Group.	Larry Dooley presented a Powerpoint presentation on the progress of the Mental Health Support Sub Group. Overall Larry noted that there are good local services available but there is a lack of a coordinated approach. A lack of 24/7 service is an issue. An early intervention programme through schools etc was recommended. The committee suggested inviting Anne O'Connor, Director of Mental Health, HSE to a future meeting of the JPC. Aidan Maher to contact Anne.
6.	Fora updates.	Reports Noted. Niall Counihan noted the continuing contribution of An Garda Siochana and Dublin City Council in policing and maintenance of Faussagh Avenue. Cllr Reilly asked for an update on a strategy for the Main Street, Ballymun. Mary Taylor agreed an update will be given at the next Safer Ballymun Meeting. Dave Dinnigan to request Dublin City Council procedures on the response to needle finds, in particular the after hours service. The next Safer Ballymun meeting has being rescheduled to 18 th October 2016.
7.	Garda Reports.	Reports Noted. Cllr Perry questioned the increase in burglary figures on the Mountjoy report. Insp. Casey noted the spike related to a specific area around Whitworth Road to Drumcondra, the issue has being addressed and 1 culprit identified. Chief Super Wheatley agreed the burglary rate in Finglas needed to be addressed. Deputy Ellis noted the following concerns: Attack on local delivery drivers. Joy riding in Berryfield area. Increase in antisocial activity in the Fairlawn, Ballygall areas. Cllr Connaghan thanked the Gardai for the response to his question with regard to the Barry and Northway Est. areas and acknowledges the effort being made in the area, however he suggested great visibility on the ground to deter the congregation of youths. Chief Super Wheatley noted all concerns.
8.	Strategic Questions.	11 Strategic Questions received, replies circulated in packs to all members.

Presentation on the Management of Housing Estates by Mick Clarke, Anti Social Policy Unit Dublin City Council to be re circulated with minutes.

The meeting concluded at 16.45

The next meeting will take place on Monday 12th December 2016 at 3.00 pm in the Council Chamber, Ballymun Civic Centre, Main Street, Ballymun, Dublin 11.

Attendance:

Councillors: Seamas McGrattan, Noeleen Reilly, Emma Murphy, Teresa Keegan,

Anthony Connaghan, Aine Clancy, Paul Mc Auliffe, Cieran Perry,

Cathleen Carney Boud, Andrew Montague.

TDs: Deputy Roisin Shortall, Deputy Dessie Ellis.

Officials: Dave Dinnigan (Executive Manager), Aidan Maher (Senior Executive

Officer), Mary Taylor (Senior Executive Officer), Lisa Keenan (Staff Officer), Fergus Synnott (Administrative Officer), Leona Fynes

(Project Estate Officer).

Gardaí: Chief Superintendent Lorraine Wheatley, Superintendent Finbarr

Murphy, Inspector John Burke, Sgt. Aidan Flanagan, Inspector Liam

Casey, Det. Insp Des Mc Tiernan.

Community Reps: Mr. Frank Murphy, Mr. Tony Byrne, Ms. Teresa Lydon.

Safety Fora Reps: Mr. Niall Counihan

Local Drugs Task Force: Mr. Hugh Greaves

Apologies: Lord Mayor Brendan Carr, Cllr. David Costello.

<u>Councillor Seamas McGrattan</u> Chairperson